Android_market Apple_appstore

Walgo FAQ - Basic Operation

Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

Contents

  1. What is "Quick View"?
  2. Hey, one of my cards is no longer visible in my App. What happened to it?
  3. If I lose my phone and get a new one, can I transfer my cards to the new phone?
  4. What If I leave my phone on with the app running? Will it time out? Can I control how long it will take until it times out?
  5. Where do I go to customize settings?
  6. How can I tell if I have new cards to "pick up" in Walgo? How can I tell when I have received a card?
  7. How do I get a card in/out of the Fast Access section at the top of the Walgo cards lists?
  8. How can I back up the info I have stored in Walgo?
  9. What if I accidentally delete Walgo off my phone - how can I get it working again?
  10. Downloading new cards to Walgo seems slower on my phone than on my friend's phone. Why is this, and what can I do about it?

Questions and Answers

1. What is "Quick View"?

  • Sometimes things can get hectic in the checkout line, and it can be useful to show your loyalty or ID card quickly without needing to type in your Walgo password. The Quick View feature allows you to tag cards as being viewable before the Walgo password has being entered. You can then conveniently view these cards by pressing the "Quick View" button immediately after opening Walgo.
  • When cards are displayed in Quick View mode, they are shown in "read only" mode, meaning nothing about the card may be changed or altered until a proper password has been entered into Walgo. Cards may be moved in and out of Quick View as frequently as desired.
  • This feature provides quick access to cards, however this also means these cards may be viewable by anyone who picks up your phone and launches Walgo, so care should be taken when marking cards with sensitive information on them as "Quick View".

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

2. Hey, one of my cards is no longer visible in my App. What happened to it?

  • Most likely you have placed that card in edit mode by selecting it for editing. When a card is being actively edited or changed, it is automatically recalled from Walgo until you elect to resend it.
  • Log on to your account on this web site, and if you are finished editing the card, click the "Send to Walgo" button next to the card, and the card will be resent to Walgo on your phone.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

3. If I lose my phone and get a new one, can I transfer my cards to the new phone?

Yes, Walgo will do this for you automatically when you reinstall it on the new phone. For security reasons, you will need to properly authenticate yourself using your existing account settings in order to connect the new phone to your account. Once you do this, all your cards will be immediately resent to your new phone.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

4. What If I leave my phone on with the app running? Will it time out? Can I control how long it will take until it times out?

For security, Walgo does have an inactivity timer that will lock Walgo if it is left running. The default timeout is 3 minutes, and you can adjust the timeout value to be from 1 to 5 minutes by going to the Settings tab within Walgo. Like Walgo's enforced password, you are not able to completely disable the timer, although you can set it at 5 minutes if you like.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

5. Where do I go to customize settings?

In Walgo, you will find customizable settings like resetting your device password and selecting an inactivity timeout on the 'Settings' tab.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

6. How can I tell if I have new cards to "pick up" in Walgo? How can I tell when I have received a card?

  • New cards that are ready to be accepted into Walgo appear on the "Incoming" tab within Walgo.
  • If there are a lot of cards to be downloaded, Walgo will bring them down in batches that vary in size based on the capabilities of your device. Walgo will keep requesting new batches until all of the pending cards have been downloaded.
  • On the iPhone: The number of pending cards is indicated by the red "badge" that appears on the Walgo icon (if Walgo isn't running) and on the "Incoming" tab (if Walgo is open). The number in the red badge indicates the total cards that are available for download to Walgo from the server, though all of them may not be downloaded to Walgo at one time due to size constraints. Tap on the Incoming tab to review your incoming cards.
  • On the BlackBerry: When new cards are available for Walgo, the text color of the "Incoming" tab label changes to red. Select the Incoming tab to review your incoming cards.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

7. How do I get a card in/out of the Fast Access section at the top of the Walgo cards lists?

  • On the iPhone: From the main Cards tab list in Walgo, select the card you want to move in/out of Fast Access, then tap the card view to flip the card over. At the lower right corner of the screen you will see an "organize" icon - tap this to toggle the card in or out of the Fast Access section.
  • On the BlackBerry: From the main Cards tab list, select the card you wish to move in/out of Fast Access, then click the "running man" icon at the upper right corner of the screen. This will toggle the card in/out of the Fast Access section.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

8. How can I back up the info I have stored in Walgo?

  • For iPhone users, your data within Walgo may be backed up through iTunes in the usual manner - see iTunes documentation for details.
  • Walgo makes every effort to perform all necessary backups for you on our secure servers. Should you lose your phone or get a new one for any reason, Walgo will automatically re-sync all your Walgo contents to the new device. For security reasons, you will need to authenticate yourself against your existing account information on file with us in order to connect your new phone to your account.
  • One can never have too many backups of essential data, so it is always a good idea to also keep your own backups of Walgo data through iTunes.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

9. What if I accidentally delete Walgo off my phone - how can I get it working again?

  • The easiest way is to send yourself a Walgo installation email from the Download Walgo page on this web site. Clicking on the install link within the email from your phone will install a new Walgo application on your phone.
  • When you are asked for an initial Walgo password during the installation process, you MUST enter the same password that you were using on your previous Walgo installation. This is for security reasons, so that someone can't pick up your phone, reinstall Walgo with their own password.
  • If you forget your previous Walgo password, please follow the instructions under the FAQ question "What if I forget my Walgo password?"

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview

10. Downloading new cards to Walgo seems slower on my phone than on my friend's phone. Why is this, and what can I do about it?

  • Downloading high quality card images to Walgo in a secure fashion can take time on mobile devices. Some older model Smartphones really struggle to perform strong encryption functions. Even phones that are not physically that old, but are running an older version of the device operating system, can perform slowly while handling encryption.
  • For best performance, you should make sure your device operating system is the latest version recommended by the manufacturer for your device, and upgrade your device OS in accordance with the manufacturer's directions if it is not.
  • The nature of your network connection is also a factor, so whenever possible you should handle incoming cards (especially large batches of them) over a WiFi connection rather than over the cellular network. This is similar to your experience with other bulk data synchronization, such as your incoming email.
  • Finally, just as with email and other data synchronization, you want to be careful when your device is roaming, as your network provider may charge premium rates for data downloads while you are roaming. As with email, you generally do not want to allow your device to download large amounts of data while you are roaming, as surcharges can be significant depending on your particular carrier and data plan.

Back to top / Back to Walgo FAQ Overview